Highlighted
Occasional Visitor

Petco Employee Aggressively Bullied False Information

[ Edited ]

Hello.  I would like to share an incident which occurred within one of your Petco stores on 8/07/2017.  I understand it has been about a month and two weeks since the incident, but as I continue to educate myself and speak with professional experts (my vet, other vets, breeders, etc.), I have found myself even more disgruntled about what transpired in your store, and had to inform you on what false information your employees are telling their customers.  I should also mention that both my husband and I have over 10 years of retail management experience; my husband being a leading Store/General Manager within a extremely popular Fortune 200 brick-and-mortar retailer, and myself as a District Manager of the same company, so we know exactly what kind of customer service should be expected from a company like Petco.

This all transpired at the 59 Vervalen Street ,Closter, NJ 07624 location.  My husband and I were in to purchase a collar and identification tag for the puppy we were adopting from a nearby rescue.  A member of the staff was attentive enough, pointing out where the collars were and asking us if we needed any further help.  The employee continued to engage us by asking us questions about our new puppy.  We told him the breed, and mentioned the rescue where we were adopting, and how old the puppy was (9 weeks old).  He gave us some helpful information, about training classes at Petco and the Vet who comes on weekends to administer vaccinations, etc.  He actually mentioned he was a trainer himself (and was wearing the trainer shirt).  I replied that the rescue actually takes care of everything, vaccinations, etc., but the training classes were something we were definitely interested in.